Editors: What is Curriculum Management?
Kiddom’s new Curriculum Management capabilities bring dynamic curriculum personalizations to life across classrooms. Now, educators can collaborate in a PLC-model to personalize and edit curriculum to meet the unique needs of their students and learning communities!
There are two roles for Curriculum Management: Editor and Teacher. Click here for a brief overview of the different functionalities of the roles.
As an Editor, you can:
- Personalize and publish curriculum versions across the school
- Personalize curriculum and make it available to teachers at the school when published
- Collaborate on drafts of curriculum with other Editors at the school
- Have multiple versions of the curriculum
Keep reading to learn more about how to get the most out of Curriculum Management as an Editor! If you want to learn more about Curriculum Management as a Teacher, click here.
In this article:
- New Settings Overview
- Personalizing and Publishing Content
- Editor Drafts
- Changing a Private version to Public
- Collaborating between Editors
New Settings Overview
As an Editor, you’ll notice some new changes to the options listed above an assignment:
Version dropdown menu: This dropdown allows you to switch between versions of content
Assignment Settings: These can be edited when personalizing
Personalize: Click this button to edit content
Eyeball icon: Allows you to preview the activity from a student view before assigning
Version dropdown menu
Clicking the Version dropdown menu will allow you to see all the versions of the content you are viewing. The versions will be organized into the following categories (based on the versions that exist):
Published: This will include the Original version of the content, as well as any edited versions that have been published for teachers to view/assign.
Editor Drafts: This includes your own drafts as well as any drafts made by other editors of the content that have not been published yet. All Editors of the same school can view, edit, and publish any Editor’s draft. A draft version cannot be viewed by teachers until it has been published.
My Versions: This includes your own private versions of the content that only you can view. If a version is private, then other Editors cannot access or publish it.
You can also access the Version dropdown menus when viewing content in the Planner:
Please note that the Version dropdown menu only appears here if a personalized version of the content exists. If there is only the Original version, then the Version dropdown menu will not appear in this view.
Personalizing and Publishing Content
Once you are ready to start personalizing content, click on the “Personalize” button. This will open a window where you will add a label for the version, and select if you want this version to be public or private. Once these are finalized, click the “confirm” button and a new version of the content will be created for you to begin editing.
Public means when the draft is published, all teachers in the school can view and assign this version. Before publishing, this version will be a draft and only other Editors can view and edit it.
Private means only you can edit, view, and assign this version.
Note: The process of editing content hasn’t changed, so it will look and feel the same in any type of version. If you’d like a review of how to edit content within Kiddom, click here.
Once you are finished making edits and want to publish the version for teachers to view/assign, click the “Publish” button in the upper right corner.
You can add any notes to describe the changes that were made. Below that, you’ll also see a checkbox next to “make this version the default”. When checked, it means that this updated version will be the first version that is shown to Teachers and Editors when they view the content. Teachers and Editors can always use the version dropdown menu to view other versions of the content.
Finally, remember to click “publish”. You will see your published version in the Version dropdown menu and can also view other versions of the content, including the Original. The star next to a version means that is the default version that will be shown to Teachers and Editors.
If you want to set a version as the default after publishing, click the 3-dots next to the “Assign” button and click “set as default”.
You will also be able to unpublish a version or delete a version from here. Unpublishing a version will revert it back to a draft.
As an Editor, you can also create a draft that multiple Editors at your school can collaborate on before publishing. To create a draft click “Personalize”, give your draft a label, make sure you’ve selected the Public option, and click confirm.
A duplicate of the content will then be created for you to edit. Once you’re finished making your edits, you can click Done. Please note this will not publish the content yet. The draft you’ve just created will be located under the “Editor Drafts” section in the Version dropdown menu, where other Editors in your school can also access it to make edits.
Who can see Editor drafts?
Any Editor can view, edit, and publish any other Editor’s draft(s).
Can teachers see drafts made by Editors?
Drafts cannot be seen or accessed by teachers. If a teacher is also an Editor, then they will be able to see and edit drafts created by other Editors.
How can a draft be shared with teachers?
The content needs to be published in order for teachers to see and assign it. To publish a draft, click the 3-dots next to the Preview icon and click “Publish draft”.
If you are editing a draft, you can publish it when you’re finished by clicking the “Publish” button in the upper right corner.
Changing a Private Version to Public
If you created a private version that you wish to make public in order to publish it so it can be viewed and assigned by teachers, you can do so by selecting the version from the Version dropdown menu under “My Versions”. Once you are viewing the private version, click the 3-dots in the upper right corner and select “Personalize”.
This creates a duplicate where you will add a label for the version, make sure to select “Public” and then “Confirm”. Now a public version draft has been created and can be further edited or published for teachers to view and assign.
Collaborating Between Editors
Editors can collaborate on the same version draft. To do this, one Editor (Editor A) will need to create the version draft by clicking “Personalize”, adding a label, and selecting “public”. Once the draft is created, it can be found by all Editors in the Version dropdown menu under “Editor Drafts”.
If Editor B wants to access and edit the draft that Editor A created, they can do so by using the Version dropdown menu and clicking on the draft under “Editor Drafts”. Once they are viewing the draft, they can click “Edit Draft” to start making changes.
After Editor B makes their changes, they are able to publish the version by clicking “Publish”. If they just wish to save their draft but not publish yet, they can click “Done”. Any Editor can publish a public version draft, whether they are the creator or another Editor at the school.
It is important to note that if Editor A has the version draft open while Editor B is editing, then Editor A will not be able to see the changes that Editor B is making in real-time. However, Editor A can refresh the page or navigate away then come back to see the updated changes that Editor B is making, even before Editor B clicks “Done”.
While Editor B is actively making edits, Editor A will be unable to make edits to the same version at the same time. Editor A will see that the “Edit Draft” button is grayed out and will be able to see which Editor is currently working on the version draft by hovering over the “Edit Draft” button.
If Editor A wants to make edits, they will have to ask Editor B to click “Done” in order to save and close their work. Once Editor B clicks “Done”, then Editor A’s page will automatically refresh to show the updated changes and to allow Editor A to click the “Edit Draft” button to start making their edits.